Elders & Deacons


The governing board of the church is called the Session, and is made up of the Pastor and up to 12 members of the congregation who are elected as Elders. The Session is administratively managed by the Clerk of Session, who is not a voting member. The Elders serve for a three-year term. Elders are nominated by a separate congregational nominating committee. The terms are staggered, with up to four elders elected each year.

The Elders provide the leadership for church committees that manage the operation and maintenance of the church. Committee members come from the congregation and do not have to be Elders.

The PCCR session normally meets on the third Monday of each month at 6:30 pm in the church library.


The ministry of deacon as set forth in Scripture is one of compassion, witness, and service, sharing in the redeeming love of Jesus Christ for the poor, the hungry, the sick, the lost, the friendless, the oppressed, those burdened by unjust policies or structures, or anyone in distress.

The board of deacons is under the authority and supervision of the session. The deacons at PCCR serve the congregation by preparing and serving communion at PCCR and at Good Samaritan Society. They also send cards of care and comfort, support the melodrama through popcorn sales, prepare and serve at receptions following funerals and memorial services, send care packages to our college-age students, provide meals for members recovering from illness or surgery and help with whatever tasks are requested by the pastor.

There are up to twelve deacons on the board of deacons and they serve a three-year term. The terms are staggered so that up to four new deacons are elected each year. Deacons are nominated by the Congregational Nominating Committee and elected by the congregation in the fall each year. In January, the newly elected deacons are ordained or installed (if already ordained) during a worship service.